Sharing my Project Life

When I started Project Life 10 weeks ago, sharing it wasn’t something I had decided on. As I went through the process, week after week, I became less and less inclined to do so. This Project has become a lot more than just, well, a Project to me. It’s the first time I have scrapbooked without feeling pressure. I know all you fellow scrappers know exactly what I mean. Pressure to measure up to the rest of the best. I do still love making layouts, but they’re not exactly “fun” anymore, when everything you put out there feels more like an audition than a craft.

PL has put the fun back in scrapping for me! I just love how it can be anything I want it to be. I love that scrappers everywhere have taken the pressure out of it, because of the nature of the commitment. I can honestly say that I sit here week after week creating a spread with no thoughts of comparisons, making sure everything is perfect and truly for the love of documenting our family’s everyday moments.

Enter my good friend, Sherri Funk. Sherri sent me a sweet message a few weeks back really encouraging me to share this project with the worldwide scrap community. I won’t get into all her (much too kind!) words, but there’s one thing I know about that girl – she doesn’t just say things for the heck of it. She only ever says what she means. And she convinced me 🙂 In the meantime, I made a commitment to myself that if it took the fun out of PL for me, or if I started worrying about every little thicker placement too much, I would stop sharing. I love this project so much, I don’t want it to ever be spoiled!

With all that said, here is my very first ever Project Life spread, from 10 weeks ago. I feel like I’ve already come a long way of learning from here, but I’ve got ten weeks to go back and share with you, and I’m proud of every spread.

IMG_0714

IMG_0713

IMG_0717

IMG_0718

I’ll be back with Week 2 on Monday!

TFL!

8 thoughts on “Sharing my Project Life

  1. Yay, can’t tell you how happy I am that you’ve decided to share your PL, and, in essence your life with the world. You have so much to offer Tara, beyond great design and “thicker placement”. I just love that now I’ll get to keep up with you even better than just texting. And your words about me touched me deeply today. It is rare to have a friend who values and appreciates you with all your shortcomings included. I am blessed friend. Waiting patiently for week two.

  2. Thank you for sharing your first Project Life spread with the rest of us! You are so right about the pressure us scrappers can feel when we share our projects with the rest of the world.

    I’ve fallen behind on my Project Life and there are several weeks that I’ve missed, but Ive promised myself that I’m not going to get stressed about it. This is meant to be fun… no stress allowed!

    I look forward to seeing more of your beautiful work! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Love looking at your PL. I always have been a big fan of your work, and I can’t say I am anything less than excited with what your PL looks like! It’s simple and perfect! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

